Facebook Pixel

Hoopster 2016

The Sports Management Team at SIBM Pune launched Hoopster, a Three-on-Three Basketball Tournament for the first time ever this July, 2016.

"Sports has the power to unite people in a way that little else can" - Nelson Mandela.

With this very spirit in mind, Hoopster aspired to break the ice between the juniors and the seniors and bring them together on the same platform to share the common love of sports. The team structure of Hoopster was also quite unique--each team was required to have one boy from first and second years each, and a third female member from either batch. With over ten teams sweating it out in a hard-fought tournament, Hoopster certainly created a buzz in the college as people turned out in huge numbers to support different teams.

The tournament was organized in a knockout format. On day one, the incumbent(senior) basketball stars of the college, Sudhanshu Bhatta and Anant Ranka led their teams to victory. Quarter finals were held on the same day where we witnessed nail-biting basketball matches in which teams displayed their skills with superior team coordination and synchronization. Day two started with the remaining quarter-final matches where we witnessed two first-year girls, Riyaki Jana and Srijita Sarkar, dominating the court and helping their team reach the semis. But the most notable performances of the day were from Pranay Kumar and Vaibhav Singh, who pitched in vital three-pointers at the right moments to take their teams through.

In the much-anticipated final on day three, the team consisting of Vaibhav Singh, Abhishek Singh and Rimi Chawngtey emerged as the ultimate victor, winning the final match against Sahil Sejra, Harshit Maheshwari and Riyaki Jana. The buzz and atmosphere created during the final, with music and crowd cheering for the teams was incredible. The tournament ended with glittering photo sessions of the players as well as the organizing committee.